5 Different Languages of LOVE

Even the most loving relationships come with a lot of mixed messages. Sometimes it might even feel like your loved ones are speaking in a foreign tongue. That's because they might as well be. There are five different love languages, and they affect all types of relationships between family members, friends, and yes, even sweethearts. Read on to find out more about them, and take note that no love language is better or worse than another.

WORDS OF AFFIRMATION Some people need to hear loving words in order to understand that they are loved. If your partner always lavishes you with words of affirmation like "I love you," "you're the best!," or terms of endearment like "honey," recognize that this is his or her way of expressing love - even if you're not one for gushing in return. It would also be good if you loosened your tight lips enough to send some sweet words their way. Lastly, keep in mind that negative words and hurtful phrases will also cause them intense pain. So watch your words and speak kindly. ACTS OF SERVICE There are individual who believe that actions speak louder than words. Instead of declaring their feelings, they quietly show them by running errand or working hard to provide for heir families. These quiet acts of dedication may seem ot humdrum - and may even lack the sparkle of other love languages - but they speak of a love that is constant and true. PHYSICAL TOUCH It can be just a simple caress or a brief hug, but physical touch means the world to some people. A playful nudge, affectionate kisses, and the supportive arm placed around their shoulders signal to them that they are loved. Those who need physical affection have a difficult time with long-distance relationships as they need to experience physical touch to feel loved, and they also need to express themselves physically. Zoom, Messenger sessions and emails just aren't enough for them.
QUALITY TIME For some, undivided attention is the ultimate expression of love. These people need to spend quality time with their loved ones. They put a lot of effort into planning meetups are also the type to and bonding sessions, and are crushed when these plans fall through.

RECEIVING GIFTS Are you the type to put a lot of thought, effort, and maybe even money into the gifts that you give? Or do you know of someone who always hands out pasalubong - even if it's just a bag of chips from the supermarket? As you've already guessed, receiving - and giving - presents comprises this type of love language. For these people, giving gifts is their way of expressing love, and in return, they feel loved when they receive gifts. In many cases, it's not just about how much the present costs. It's also about the effort and thought that were put into it.
Do you and your loved ones all speak the same love language? If the answer is no, there's no need to fret. As Pope Francis says in Amoris Laetitia, or The Joy of Love, "We ought to be able to acknowledge the other person's truth, the value of his or her deepest concerns, and what it is that they are trying to communicate." Recognizing and accepting one's love language that is different from yours can help you know how to encourage both understanding and compromise allowing ample room for much deeper, smoother, and more harmonious love-filled relationships. What's your love language? Take this quiz to find out: http://www.5lovelanguages.com/profile/.

Article from My Pope Philippines magazine.

No comments:

Search This Blog

Featured Post

Dressing for a Black Tie Affair: A Guide to Event Elegance

Black-tie events are synonymous with glamour and sophistication. From weddings and galas to awards ceremonies and charity balls, these occ...


Popular Posts

Contact Form


Email *

Message *

Blog Visitors

Flag Counter

Trending Now

Beauty & Fashion

Business / Real Estate

Health News

Popular Posts Last Month

Popular Posts All-time